Vegan desserts and sweets have been becoming more and more popular with the passage of time and they have evolved a lot. There are a lot of dessert cafes and pastry shops that specialize in vegan dishes but are equally famous amongst the non-vegan. As far as vegan candies are concerned there are more varieties of them than we might know of. Vegan candies are very common to find these days even imitation milk chocolates are very commonly available.
So, what exactly makes candies vegan?
Determining if a candy is vegan depends on our own list of preferences. If you are a very strict follower of vegan diet or have any severe allergies you can contact the companies directly too and get to know the manufacturing process of their candies.
One more thing to keep in mind is that some common candy ingredients fall in the gray area with the vegan community. For example, there are times when sugar is processed using the animal bone char, so it poses a bit of reservations to the vegan people. Some of the manufacturers substitute sugar with honey since it is treated after being extracted from the hives. So, there are degrees and levels of veganism and there is something available for each level.
Here are a few popular vegan candies that you can try:
- Alter Eco Super Dark Truffles
- SweeTARTS Originals
- Goldenburg’s Peanut Chew
- Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
- Hu Kitchen Chocolate Bars, Hunks and Gems